Friday, August 21, 2009

Tough Times, Tough Choices: Maximizing Device Software ROI with Open Source

On Wednesday August 26th, we will be participating in two live discussion panels that will explore how intelligent device manufacturers can leverage Linux and other Free and Open Source Software (FOSS) in the current challenging economic environment.

This live event will examine how building with and on open source technologies can impact product lifecyles, from prototyping through development and deployment in terms of capital expenditure (CapEx) and operational expenses (OpEx). In particular, the on-line roundtable will consider CapEx-OpEx trade-offs in platform acquisition, development tools, testing and bill of materials for FOSS-based devices, and how to maximize return from increasingly limited resources and budgets.

Please join moderator Bill Weinberg from and panelists Michael O'Donnell of Freescale, Wind River's Sven Dummer and Alex deVries, and VDC's own Steve Balacco for a lively on-line discussion - and don't hesitate to share your own recession challenges and questions with the webinar team, live, on August 26th.

Wednesday, August 26th
06:00 AM PDT / 09:00 EDT / 15:00 CET or
4:00 PM PDT/ 7:00 PM EDT / 8:00 AM Tokyo UTC- (Thursday)

Click here to register for this ARCHIVED event hosted by Open Systems Media.